Give Me some Salume

I am very nostalgic when it comes to good food. I am still saddened by the fact that Italy trip was already 5 months ago because it still feels like yesterday. The flavor and taste of prociutto and salume still linger. One day, I stumbled into Ballaro Cafe Prociutteria and I rediscovered Italy right in my neighborhood!

The cafe is decorated with wooden stools and tables. Wine cellar is occupied by a great selection of Italian wine. Huge Prociutto di Parmas are hung at the bar. Barista is busy making coffee for the patrons and the aroma is omnipresent in the cafe. Our waiter’s Italian accent makes me feel like back in good old Italy once again.

We ordered some prociutto, goat cheese and salume to start. It comes in general portion. The prociutto is so tender and fresh. The cheese is soft, pungent and delicious with the freshly cut meat.

For sandwich, I got the Calabrese, which has soppressata , sun dried tomato and Asiago cheese. I chose the Rosetta wheat bread for my sandwich. My boyfriend ordered the salame with artichoke sandwich. Both paninis are grillled to perfection; warm and crispy on the outside and meaty and flavorful on the inside. The panini also comes with a side of mixed greens with tomato.

Although we were satisfied, we could not resist the homemade tiramisu sitting in their fridge. We decided to share one together and to our surprise, they gave us a huge slice! It was creamy and you could taste the alcohol in the Lady Finger cake at the bottom. The tiramisu is one of the best I have had for sure.

Our waiter told me they also have an amazing Happy Hour deal where you come for their drink specials but the highlight for me is really the free and unlimited supply of appetizers! I am about to drool when I think about it!

The only down side is this place is CASH only. So bring your green and ready to spend on some delicious cold cuts and wine!

Ballaro Cafe Prociutteria: 77 2nd Ave, New York, NY, 10003

Fresh cold cuts and cheese

Calabrese Panini

Gigantic tiramisu

About Athena Chang

Love traveling, dining, and cooking. Digital marketing professional by day, globe-trotting foodie at heart.
This entry was posted in Dining and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

