Coffee Culture in Italy

I just returned from a 11-day trip to Italy. The trip was beyond amazing. Other than sight-seeing and a little indulgence in shopping, I spent a great deal of time exploring Italian cuisine and observing their food culture. I can’t help but notice how coffee is consumed very differently over there.

Coffee plays an important role in many Italians’ daily life but the way they make and consume it is quite contrary to that in the United States.  Unlike always-in-a-hurry New Yorkers, they take their time sipping coffee and chatting with the barista, owner or the nearby customers. The cafes don’t even provide to-go cups. You really have to stand there and finish your coffee before you can go anywhere else.  Besides, they don’t have different sizes for coffee. It seems that Italy’s coffee culture is not just about getting the caffeine doze for the day. It is rather, for the relaxation, the entertainment and finally for the caffeine shot.

I am actually quite jealous of their carefree attitude. I wonder why I seldom sit down at a coffee shop, sipping my coffee. Is it because I am always worried about running late for something? Or because I think I don’t have time for  a cup of coffee? How do these Italians find time to drink coffee before, during and after work at a coffee shop then? If I could do it too, I know I probably don’t belong in New York…

About Athena Chang

Love traveling, dining, and cooking. Digital marketing professional by day, globe-trotting foodie at heart.
This entry was posted in Dining. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coffee Culture in Italy

  1. The Italian lifestyle seems pretty awesome if you ask me… I could do it too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

