St. Elmo’s Steak House

Having tried Peter Lugers and Wolf Gang’s Steakhouse in New York, I am excited to visit St. Elmo’s, the famous steak house in Indianapolis. It has been around since 1902 and has many famous celebrities diners. Knowing I probably won’t return to Indianapolis anytime soon, I know I couldn’t miss the chance to try it.

Walking into St. Elmo’s just turned the clock back to early 1900s. The inside is decorated with old pictures of Indianapolis and it looks like it hasn’t changed since 1902. This is a striking similarity between St. Elmo’s and Peter Lugers. Even the waiters are dressed similarly and they kindly remind me of what 5 star service feels like.

Before I came to St. Elmo’s, I asked locals what they like about this steak house and what I should order. They ubiquitously suggest their cocktail shrimp as well as their steak. Therefore, we ordered their cocktail shrimp and we shared a 32 oz prime rib steak and a house salad.

Everything I had here is excellent and definitely worth 5 star. Even their bread basket serves up some really delicious cheese rolls! When the shrimp cocktail arrived, I was excited. They have their home-made cocktail sauce and it was no joke. It was so spicy that I almost cried. The shrimp was huge and fresh and the horseradish sauce makes the shrimp super tasty.

Then my house salad came with also home-made balsamic vinegar dressing and it was delicious. But the highlight of the meal definitely goes to the 32 Oz steak my boyfriend decided to get. It is bone-in so it is not exactly 32 oz of meat but still big enough to stuff both of us really good. The prime rib is aged and seasoned just perfect. The outside skin is grilled to a little crispy and inside is tender. I think my boyfriend got tired from cutting the steak!

At the end of the dinner, we were both full ans satisfied. I am glad we got to try St. Elmo’s and experienced the history and taste of Indianapolis.

About Athena Chang

Love traveling, dining, and cooking. Digital marketing professional by day, globe-trotting foodie at heart.
This entry was posted in Dining, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

