My Top 5 Cupcake Places in NYC

S'Mores Cupcakes from Chikalicious

S'mores with a twist

My love affair with cupcakes all began about about 2 years ago when Chikalicious first opened their Chikalicious Dessert. I lived right next door to it and I decided to go inside and checked out what they sold. I saw these small, delicate and evenly colored, shaped and displayed cupcakes with unique flavors. I bought a chocolate cupcake and God i was in heaven. The cake was moist, sweet and had chocolate filling inside; the frosting was creamy, smooth and just about the right sweetness. So then I tried every flavor they have on shelf! My favorite goes to Caramel and their S’more. This is where I began my journey to search for the next awesome cupcakes.

My 2nd prize goes to Cupcake Stop. As a newcomer to the game, it truly surprises me. It doesn’t have a store front; instead, it uses a truck to carry cupcakes to different part of Manhattan. Everyday is a different spot and everyday has a different combination of flavors. They make getting cupcakes so exciting and unpredictable! I have tried pretty much all the flavors they have available. My favorites here are peanut butter jelly and Chocolate Cheesecake.

It is a tough call for third place because both candidates, Butter Lane and Sugar Sweet Sunshine Bakery win me over with the rich flavor, texture and quality. However, since I am more a “budget” eater, I would give it to Sugar Sweet Sunshine, whose cupcakes are only $1.5 each and it is huge! They have all the traditional flavors you could think of plus some creative ones such as Oreos, Peanut Butter, etc. My favorite here is their Red Velvet and Chocolate.

Butter Lane, though given the 4th place, it holds a special place in my heart. This is the first ever cupcake places I have been to that let you mix and match your own “cake” and “frosting”. So I could have a French Vanilla cake with Banana or Chocolate frosting. Also, all the cupcakes here are Organic. how cool is that!

Last but not the least, is Crumbs. It is not as delicate, “cool” and hip but it definitely will put you in a sweet food coma after having one of their cupcakes. They are gigantic! Nonetheless, Crumbs has some great and creative flavors as well such as Coconut, Reeses & more. The portion here is good for sharing if you want to watch your figures.

See a complete list of  my favorite cupcake places in NYC here.

About Athena Chang

Love traveling, dining, and cooking. Digital marketing professional by day, globe-trotting foodie at heart.
This entry was posted in Dining and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

