4 Things They Don’t Tell You about Pregnancy

As I approach the end of my pregnancy, I have found that people idealize pregnancy to women for centuries! They talked about how beautiful and amazing it is while in reality, it is bitter sweet

Brunch Cruising on Hudson River

Brunch Cruising on Hudson River

to say the least. People ignore some of the really inconvenient truths about pregnancy. I am therefore, sharing my personal experience with you all so you are not left in the dark.

First of all, you literally will pee in your pants. You must think I am joking. Sadly I wish I were. It happens later in your pregnancy and usually when you cough, sneeze or laugh too hard. At a moment like this, I feel like an old lady who loses control of her bladder and need an adult diaper!

Additionally, your belly becomes a magnet for everyone’s hands. Your friends, coworkers and even strangers, man or woman, love to touch your belly, which once upon a time deemed private and unapproachable.

Thirdly, ugly comfortable shoes become your best friends. I was hoping to stay fabulous and elegant during pregnancy. I also witnessed celebrities wearing sexy killer heels during their pregnancy. Therefore, I never though high heels become unbearable when I approached 3rd trimester. My feet are swollen and I can barely walk for more than 2 hours in even sneakers! Consequently, style is out and comfort is in! I am only wearing comfort shoes that in the past only my mother will purchase.

Finally, they don’t tell you having a child is like having another mortgage! You can say goodbye to your urge to buy new bags, jewelry and new designer outfit. While your single or childless girlfriend is debating on whether they should buy the new Louis Vuitton bag or a pair of Christian Louboutin heel, you are struggling with paying $20,000 the first year on a stroller, diapers, crib and more to come.

Now, after reading my blog, I hope you are READY for having a baby of your own. It is a very important decision for you and your partner and should be thought out carefully. It is an amazing experience to say the least. I hope this helps you prepare for your future pregnancy!

About Athena Chang

Love traveling, dining, and cooking. Digital marketing professional by day, globe-trotting foodie at heart.
Image | This entry was posted in Pregnancy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 4 Things They Don’t Tell You about Pregnancy

  1. filbio says:

    I know a few lady friends who are pregnant right now and going through the same so you are not alone. Congrats and good luck on the baby!

Leave a Reply

